Send to KindleSend to Kindle

Dialectic is the official podcast of the UCLA Law Review.  Through this podcast, we hope to show listeners how seemingly abstract legal theories and ideas can have concrete effects on our everyday lives.  Learn more about Dialectic.

Subscribe to Dialectic on iTunes

Subscribe to the Dialectic RSS feed


Most Recent Episodes

Episode 2.3: Taking Back Juvenile Confessions with Professor Kevin Lapp
December 8, 2016

In this episode, we interview Loyola Law professor Kevin Lapp, whose article “Taking Back Juvenile Confessions” was recently featured in the UCLA Law Review's Fall Scholar Forum and is forthcoming in issue 64.4 of the UCLA Law Review. Tune in to hear Professor Lapp describe the unique cognitive and developmental needs of juvenile criminal defendants and discuss one way the criminal law might better accommodate those needs.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Taking Back Juvenile Confessions with Professor Kevin Lapp, UCLA L. Rev. (Dec. 8, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-2-3-taking-back-juvenile-confessions-with-professor-kevin-lapp.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 2.2: Tips on Persuasive Writing with Professor Eugene Volokh

November 14, 2016

In this special episode, Professor Eugene Volokh shares his thoughts on writing and editing—skills that are part and parcel of the lawyer’s craft.  Tune in to hear Professor Volokh’s tips on how to make your written work more effective and persuasive.

Professor Volokh's article, "The Freedom of Speech and Bad Purposes," is published in issue 63.5 of UCLA Law Review.  Click here for the article page.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Tips on Persuasive Writing with Professor Eugene Volokh, UCLA L. Rev. (Nov. 14, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-2-2-tips-on-persuasive-writing-with-professor-eugene-volokh.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 2.1: The Freedom of Speech and Bad Purposes with Professor Eugene Volokh
November 7, 2016

In this episode, we interview UCLA Law professor Eugene Volokh, whose article “The Freedom of Speech and Bad Purposes” is published in issue 63.5 of the UCLA Law Review. We discuss the merits and weaknesses of First Amendment purpose tests--legal tests that strip protection if a person speaks with bad motives or intentions--and we consider whether First Amendment protections should ever be contingent on the speaker's underlying purpose.

Professor Volokh's article, "The Freedom of Speech and Bad Purposes," is published in issue 63.5 of UCLA Law Review.  Click here for the article page.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: The Freedom of Speech and Bad Purposes with Professor Eugene Volokh, UCLA L. Rev. (Nov. 7, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-2-1-the-freedom-of-speech-and-bad-purposes-with-professor-eugene-volokh.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 2.0: Introduction to Season Two
October 26, 2016

Dialectic is back! In this episode we discuss what we have in store for Dialectic's second season.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Introduction to Season 2, UCLA L. Rev. (Oct. 26, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-2-0-introduction-to-season-two/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.5: Equitable Remedies with Samuel L. Bray
April 18, 2016

In this episode, we interview UCLA Law professor Samuel L. Bray, whose article “The System of Equitable Remedies” is published in issue 63.3 of UCLA Law Review.  We discuss the distinction between legal and equitable remedies, and we describe the key characteristics and features of each.  We also consider whether it makes sense to distinguish between legal and equitable remedies, and we explain why, according to Professor Bray, this distinction ought to be preserved.

Professor Bray's article, "The System of Equitable Remedies," is published in issue 63.3 of UCLA Law Review.  Click here for the article page.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Equitable Remedies with Samuel L. Bray, UCLA L. Rev. (Apr. 18, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-5-equitable-remedies-with-samuel-l-bray/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.4: Richard M. Re on the Legacy of Justice Scalia
April 7, 2016

In this episode, we discuss the life and legacy of Justice Antonin Scalia with Richard M. Re, Assistant Professor at the UCLA School of Law.  Tune in to hear Professor Re describe Justice Scalia's unique jurisprudence and most important legal contributions.  You'll also hear Professor Re discuss how Scalia's absence might affect the future of the United States Supreme Court.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Richard M. Re on the Legacy of Justice Scalia, UCLA L. Rev. (Apr. 7, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-4-richard-m-re-on-the-legacy-of-justice-scalia/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.3: Discussing Treaties with Professor Melissa Durkee
March 30, 2016

In this episode, we interview Melissa Durkee, Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Washington School of Law, about her article “The Business of Treaties.” We discuss the various roles that businesses take in enacting and forming international treaties such as the Trans Pacific Partnership. We also delve into the implications of this private involvement into international lawmaking.

Professor Durkee's article, “The Business of Treaties,” is published in issue 63.2 of the UCLA Law Review. Click here for the article page.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Discussing Treaties with Professor Melissa Durkee, UCLA L. Rev. (Mar. 30, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-3-discussing-treaties-with-professor-melissa-durkee/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.2: Campaign Finance Law with Professor Daniel Lowenstein
March 4, 2016

In this episode, we continue our discussion of campaign finance reform by interviewing Daniel Lowenstein, an emeritus Professor at the UCLA School of Law and a leading scholar in the field of electoral law.  Listen in to hear Professor Lowenstein explain why campaign finance is a problem and how it can be fixed.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Campaign Finance Law with Professor Daniel Lowenstein, UCLA L. Rev. (Mar. 4, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-2-campaign-finance-law-with-professor-daniel-lowenstein/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.1: Super PAC Insurance with Nick Warshaw
Feb. 2, 2016

In this episode, we interview author Nick Warshaw, whose comment “Forget Congress: Reforming Campaign Finance Through Mutually Assured Destruction” is published in issue 63.1 of the UCLA Law Review.  Tune in to hear us ask Nick about American elections, Super PACs, and the future of campaign finance.

Click here for the article page.

Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Super PAC Insurance with Nick Warshaw, UCLA L. Rev. (Feb. 2, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-1-super-pac-insurance-with-nick-warshaw/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US


Episode 1.0: Intro to Dialectic
Jan. 4, 2016

In this episode, we introduce ourselves and explain what we hope to accomplish through Dialectic.


Show This Episode's Bluebook Citation

Dialectic: Intro to Dialectic, UCLA L. Rev. (Jan. 4, 2016), http://www.uclalawreview.org/episode-0-intro-to-dialectic/.

Production and Hosting by Lucy Williams
Production and Editing by Boris Mindzak

Music in the episode: Something Elated by Broke For Free licensed under CC BY 3.0 US